Tourism Hall of Fame Inductee: Paula Miles

February 27, 2023

Paula Miles, executive secretary-treasurer of Arkansas Delta Byways, was nducted into the Arkansas Tourism Hall of Fame during a noon luncheon on Monday, Feb. 27, during the 49th annual Arkansas Governor’s Conference on Tourism in El Dorado. The Hall of Fame honor is presented annually to an individual or individuals who have been actively involved in Arkansas’s tourism industry for many years and who have made substantial contributions to the betterment of the industry as a whole. Miles was inducted along with Benjamin Franklin Fruehauf III. a member of the Ozark Mountain Tourism Association.


Paula Miles retired in 2020 as assistant director of Arkansas State University Heritages Sites. During her time at ASU, Paula played a key role in the restoration of the four Heritage Sites museums (Johnny Cash Boyhood Home, Hemingway-Pfeiffer Museum and Educational Center, Southern Tenant Farmers Museum and Lakeport Plantation) and the restoration of the historic Kays House on the ASU campus. Later, she helped move the Heritage Sites offices to the restored Kays structure and set up the “Governor Mike Beebe Office” in the main living room. Paula helped lead the restoration, meeting with architects to finalize museum plans and working with design companies to create the museum exhibits.

Paula has coordinated many fundraising events through the years, helped plan the grand opening for each site and organized each gift shop, including researching and securing specialty items unique to each location. Paula also worked to create and develop the outdoor exhibits at the Rohwer Relocation Camp narrated by George Takei.

A passionate advocate for the Delta, Paula currently serves as executive secretary/treasurer for the Arkansas Delta Byways Regional Tourism Association, which serves 15 counties in Eastern Arkansas. Paula has received multiple distinguished performance awards for her work with the ASU Heritage Sites and Special Recognition and Outstanding Member Awards for Arkansas Delta Byways.